• Library Alert

    On Thursday, June 13, City Centre and Poirier branches will be closed, and Library Link stops will not be in service. We apologize for the inconvenience.

What to read next?

What to read

Having trouble finding your next read? Feeling a bit bored? If you’ve been reading the same authors over and over again, and starting to find that you’re losing interest, not to worry. We’ve got you covered. Here at Coquitlam Public Library, we have many ways to help reignite your interest in reading. Here are some options:

Watch our weekly virtual book talk
Every Wednesday at 11:30 am, our staff go live on Facebook to present to you book or movie picks. They’re recorded too, so visit our archive of videos to watch your fill of recommendations.

Check out our New and Notable lists
Did you know that every week, the Library receives new materials? We also put them into handy booklists so that you can easily browse and place holds. Check out our lists for:

Adult and Large Print
Adult Non-Fiction
Kid’s Books
Teen Books
Movies and TV

Sign in to our catalogue to create and share your own booklists too!

Join the CoqLibrary Virtual Book Club
Once a month, our virtual book club meets on Zoom to discuss books! The book club is held on Facebook where comments are posted regularly leading up to a virtual meeting. Participate every month or only select months that spark your interest. Each month, we’ll pick a book and a genre. You choose what to read.

Explore the NoveList database
Get free access to this database and find reviews, reading recommendations, discussion guides, read-a-likes and more. You can also search for books by genre, age group, pace or writing style. Then, use their convenient ‘check the library catalogue’ link to see if we own the book.

Browse our ‘New Books’ section in-library
Both City Centre and Poirier branches have a ‘new books’ section where you can browse and borrow our latest titles. 7-day express loans can also be found in this section.

Sign up for eNews
Every month, we send out an eNewsletter that includes the latest library news and reading recommendations. You can pick our general eNewsletter or only what you want to read in your inbox. We have special issues specifically for newcomers, seniors, teens, kids, and eBook and audiobook readers.

If you have any questions about what to read, feel free to email us at ask@coqlibrary.ca.

Back to Blog Headlines